Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Penang Marine Police

The Marine Police was formed in 1947 at Batu Uban, Penang....

Marine Operations Force

Malay Water Police
The Marine Police used to be known as the Malay Water Police and its responsibility was to maintain security in Penang and the Straits of Johor.

1947 Marine Police
Owing to the increase in marine activities, the marine police was formed on September 1, 1947 in Batu Uban, Penang before being transferred to Gelugor, Penang with 19 boats contributed by the Customs Development and the Royal Malaysian Navy Reserve with 90 personnel.

2009 Pasukan Gerakan Marin(Marine Operations Force)
In 6 February 2009, the name of Malaysian Marine Police was changed to Pasukan Gerakan Marin(In English: Marine Operations Force) with the aim of making the force more sensitive, progressive and innovative in their service to the community. The renaming was launched by the Minister of Home Affairs, Dato' Seri Syed Hamid Albar at PULAMAR (Abbreviation of Pusat Latihan Marin or Marine Police Training Centre), Tampoi, Johor Bahru and witnessed by Tan Sri Musa Hassan, the Inspector General of Police, the Director of Internal Security and Public Order, Dato' Hussin Ismail and all senior police officers and Malaysian media. In addition to functioning as regular police stations and huts, the Marine Police also took over police shacks located on islands, lakes, coastal and river areas. On November 24, 2008, a total of 41 marine police bases in the country were upgraded to Beach Police Stations and Beach Police Shacks.

The Marine Operations Force is currently headed by Senior Assistant Commissioner II Dato' Isa bin Munir. It operates from five regional bases around the peninsula and East Malaysia. It also has a police base at Putrajaya for the security of the lake. Each of these regional bases are organised similarly to the Neighbourhood Police Centres of the land divisions, and conduct patrols within its respective maritime sectors.

The Marine Police is organised into five main bases:

1. Northern Region Marine Police (Region 1)- Based at Batu Uban, Penang. Has responsibility for the maritime activities in the states of Perlis, Penang, Kedah, Perak and Selangor

2. South Region Marine Police Force (Region 2)- Based at Tampoi, Johor Bahru, Johore. Has responsibility for the maritime activities in the states of Negeri Sembilan, Malacca and Johore

3. East Region Marine Police Force (Region 3)- Based at Kemaman, Terengganu. Has responsibility for the maritime activities in the states of Kelantan, Terengganu and Pahang

4. Sabah Region Marine Police Force (Region 4)- Based at Sandakan, Sabah. Has responsibility for the maritime activities in the state of Sabah and Labuan

5. Sarawak Region Marine Police Force (Region 5) - Based at Kuching, Sarawak. Has responsibility for the maritime activities in the states of Sarawak

No comments:

Post a Comment